Art that makes love to your brain

I was planning to create a topic dealing with your literature recommendations. But that’s to shallow. I am not interested in experiences that are not extreme.

Emily Dickinson said: “If I read a book and it makes my whole body so cold no fire can warm me I know that is poetry”. That is poetry itself. I want to know if you ever made a connexion to a piece of art that shocked you so much that you had to rebuild yourself from the debris.

That doesn’t happen very often. It would be too much mental weight… The best poetry causes a physical reaction: those are the only moments where I feel my body and my mind are in perfect alignment. If you have ever felt it you know the feeling: it IS about direct reactions, I’ve come to learn that reading while thinking is nonsense to me. I can do that when I’m studying a particular poem or play, but the first read has to be direct, and talk directly to my Intuition with no veils in between.

I’ll start with an example myself: the first time I read the Divine Comedy I thought it was hideous, a poor attempt of Romantic Love Gospel. But after some weeks my Ti cracked, and I instinctively returned to Dante. And I read through Fe. And this time I reached the core: the grandeur of the poem is not in its Theology, but in using that Theology to create a correspondence between Mind and Space.

An example. In Hell, Canto XXXII, Dante finds Conde Ugolino eating the brains of his political enemy Rugieri:

I saw two shades frozen in a single hole
packed so close, one head hooded the other one;
the way the starving devour their bread, the soul
above had clenched the other with his teeth
where the brain meets the nape.

(I post it in Italian too so you can hear its music; you don’t need to speak Italian to enjoy its sound)

Noi eravam partiti già da ello,
ch’io vidi due ghiacciati in una buca,
sì che l’un capo a l’altro era cappello;

e come ’l pan per fame si manduca,
così ’l sovran li denti a l’altro pose